The Great Hof Organ

Mark Twain at the Hof Organ concert

"The Hofkirche is famous for its organ concerts. All summer long tourists stream into this church towards 6 o' clock in the evening, pay their francs and listen to the noise. They don't stay to listen to the whole programme but stand up and stamp across the booming stone floor, crossing paths with those who arrive too late and noisily enter. The tramping of those coming and going lasts almost the whole concert and is underlined by the continuous slamming of the doors and the coughing, barking and sneezing of the masses.

Meanwhile the Great Organ roars and crashes and booms away and does what it can to prove that it is the largest and loudest organ in Europe and that a small narrow box of a church is the best place to assess and honour its power.

It is true that occasional quiet and merciful passages can be heard but the tramping of the tourists allow only a faint impression of these to be snatched now and again. Then the organist lets rip with another avalanche of sound."

Mark Twain, A stroll through Europe (1878) Ges. Werke III, München 1966, S. 805

Grosse Hoforgel Vogelperspektive
Schilling_

Historical facts about the Great Hof Organ 

For the Gothic church which preceded the current Hofkirche sources of information concerning organs exist from a very early time. In the years 1378 and 1433 the position of organist is mentioned. Two organs are known of from this time, one of which having been built in 1429.

In 1488 the Canons request funding from the City of Lucerne for a new organ and receive 50 Gulden. This instrument, built in 1429, was placed in the north side- nave, above the doorway to the Chapel of our Dear Lady.    

In 1472 the position of  Organist, usually held by a member of the clergy, received further mention.

The second large organ was built in 1534 for 8000 Gulden and was positioned above the first ceiling on the west wall of the middle nave. It was an organ with Hauptwerk, Rückpositiv and Pedal.

Werner Endner   29.12.2005

Download Complete Text in German

"The Organs of the Hofkirche Lucerne"

The brochure can be downloaded here as pdf or is available in printed form from our Secretary.

Text and Layout: Dieter Utz 

Images: Orgelbau Kuhn AG and Nique Nager, Lucerne

Publisher: Verein der Orgelfreunde der Luzerner Hofkirche

Price: CHF 5.00

To download the English translation please follow this LINK

zum Download auf das Bild klicken

The Great Hof Organ (1648-2015)

Built 1640 by Hans Geisler and enlarged 1862 by Friedrich Haas, modified in 1972-1977 by Orgelbau Kuhn, restored and enlarged.

In the organ facade of 1640 stands the largest (10,7 Meter) and heaviest (383 kg) organ pipe in the world from its time. The total weight of the organ is around 30 tonnes.

The 7374 pipes are shared across 111 stops (tone colours) and are arranged on slider windchests (Fernwerk und Echowerk: cone chests) over five manuals and the pedal.

Integrated in the Fernwerk is the world's only rain machine (brass and wood barrel containing metal balls), built in 1862 by Friedrich Haas and preserved in its original condition. Incorporated in the current Hof Organ are 19 stops from Johann Geisler's (organ builder from Salzburg 1648) organ; 50 stops are from Friedrich Haas, 1862 (organ builder from Kleinlaufenburg-Basel, later Lucerne): this means that almost 2/3 of the stops are historical material.

The main case and the carvings from oak were made by Niklaus Geisler from Lucerne (1640). The case of the Rückpositiv was reconstructed in 1972. The case of the Echowerk was constructed in 2015 and designed by Andy Raeber.

The three free reed stops built by Friedrich Haas in 1862 were restored in 2001 and placed in the sound chamber of the Fernwerk. These are Romantic tone colours, similar to those of a harmonium or accordion. The quality of the craftsmanship of these pipes is deemed as unique; the free reed stop in the Haas organ of Thalwil is based on the original from the Lucerne Hof Organ.

With the Echowerk, which was inaugurated in 2015,  further historical pipes from the years 1862, 1898 and 1919 could be incorporated into the "organ arena" of the Hofkirche. These pipes were clearly documented and exceptionally well preserved. The best method to secure the further preservation of these precious 150-year-old pipes is in incorporating them in a functional instrument. Thus the Echowerk not only fulfills a musical function, but also a historical one, in preserving historical material in the best possible manner. And thanks to the modern case made of wood and glass, these valuable pipes also serve an educational purpose. Effect stops such as the Zimbelstern (turning star), Bätruef (call to prayer), Sennschellen (cowbells) and Alphorn promote a historical but also a local heritage, prayers such as Alpine Blessing being an integral part of our folklore.

Luzern 2015 | Wolfgang Sieber

Gallery of the Great Hof Organ

Die Grosse Hoforgel

Mark Twain am Hoforgelkonzert

"Die Hofkirche ist wegen ihrer Orgelkonzerte berühmt. Den ganzen Sommer lang strömen die Touristen gegen sechs Uhr abends in diese Kirche, bezahlen ihren Franken und lauschen dem Lärm. Sie bleiben nicht, um alles zu hören, sondern stehen auf und trampeln über den hallenden Steinfußboden hinaus, wobei sie Zuspätkommenden begegnen, die geräuschvoll hereinpoltern. Dieses Hin- und Hergetrampel dauert fast die ganze Zeit über an und wird durch das ständige Türenschlagen und das Husten, Bellen und Niesen der Menge noch unterstrichen.

Unterdessen tost und kracht und donnert die Grosse Orgel dahin und tut, was sie nur kann, um zu beweisen, daß sie die grösste und lauteste Orgel Europas ist, und dass eine kleine enge Kiste von Kirche der günstigste Ort ist, um ihre Gewalt abschätzen und würdigen zu können.

Es ist wahr, daß gelegentlich leise und barmherzige Stellen vorkamen, aber das Trapptrapp der Touristen gestattete nur dann und wann gewissermaßen einen flüchtigen Blick davon zu erhaschen. Dann liess der Organist gleich wieder eine neue Lawine los."

Mark Twain, Bummel durch Europa (1878) Ges. Werke III, München 1966, S. 805

Grosse Hoforgel Vogelperspektive
Schilling_

Geschichtliches zur Grossen Hoforgel

Für die gotische Vorgängerkirche sind schon früh Orgeln quellenmässig belegt. In den Jahren 1378 und 1433 wird eine Organistenpfründe erwähnt. Zwei Orgeln sind in dieser Zeit bekannt, wobei die eine aus dem Jahre 1429 stammt.

Die Chorherrren bitten die Stadt im Jahre 1488 um einen Beitrag an ein neues Orgelwerk und erhalten dafür 50 Gulden. Dieses Instrument von 1429 war im nördlichen Seitenschiff über der Pforte zur Kapelle unserer Lieben Frau aufgestellt.

1472 findet die Organistenpfründe, die wie damals üblich von einem Geistlichen versehen wurde, wiederum Erwähnung.

Das zweite grosse Orgelwerk wurde 1534 um 8000 Gulden über der „Vortili“ an der Westwand des Mittelschiffes erbaut. Es war eine Orgel mit Hauptwerk, Rückpositiv und Pedal.

Werner Endner   29.12.2005

Download Ganzer Text

"Die Orgeln der Hofkirche Luzern"

Die Broschüre ist hier als pdf zum Herunterladen oder als Druck beim Sekretariat erhältlich.

Text und Layout: Dieter Utz
Bilder: Orgelbau Kuhn AG und Nique Nager, Luzern

Herausgeber: Verein der Orgelfreunde der Luzerner Hofkirche

Preis: CHF 5.00

To download the English translation please follow this LINK

zum Download auf das Bild klicken

Die Grosse Hoforgel (1648-2015)

1640 von Hans Geisler erbaut und 1862 von Friedrich Haas erweitert, wurde 1972-1977 durch Orgelbau Kuhn umgebaut, restauriert und vergrössert.

Im Orgelprospekt von 1640 steht die grösste (10,7 Meter) und schwerste (383 kg) Orgelpfeife der Welt aus ihrer Zeit. Das Gesamtgewicht der Orgel beträgt etwa 30 Tonnen.

Die 7374 Pfeifen verteilen sich auf 111 Register (Klangfarben) und sind auf Schleifladen (Fernwerk und Echowerk: Kegelladen) in fünf Manualwerke und das Pedal gegliedert.

Im Fernwerk integriert steht die weltweit einzige, bekannte Regenmaschine (Blech-Holztrommel mit Metallkugeln), 1862 durch Friedrich Haas erbaut, original erhalten. In der heutigen Hoforgel wurden 19 Register aus dem Bestand Johann Geisler (Orgelmacher aus Salzburg 1648) verwendet; 50 Register sind aus dem Bestand Friedrich Haas 1862, Orgelbauer aus Kleinlaufenburg-Basel, später Luzern: damit sind beinah 2/3 der Register aus historischen Beständen.

Das Hauptgehäuse und die Schnitzereien aus Eiche stammen von Niklaus Geisler Luzern (1640). Das Gehäuse des Rückpositives wurde 1972 rekonstruiert. Das Gehäuse des Echowerkes entstand 2015, gestaltet von Andy Raeber.

Die drei, von Friedrich Haas 1862 erbauten, durchschlagenden Zungenregister wurden im Jahre 2001 restauriert und in die Tonhalle (Fernwerk) eingebaut. Es handelt sich dabei um romantische Klangfarben, die dem Harmonium oder der Handorgel ähnlich sind. Die kunsthandwerkliche Güte dieses Pfeifenmaterials wird als einzigartig eingestuft; eine Kopie der durchschlagenden Zunge in der Thalwiler Haas-Orgel basiert auf dem Original der Luzerner Hoforgel.

Mit dem 2015 eingeweihten Echowerk sind nun - nebst neuen - vor allem die sauber dokumentierten, bestens erhaltenen historischen Pfeifenbestände (1862, 1898, 1919) ebenfalls wieder in die „Orgelarena“ der Hofkirche zurückgeführt worden. Die Erhaltung dieser über 150-jährigen Pfeifenschätze ist doch am besten sichergestellt, wenn sie eingebaut in ein Orgelwerk in Funktion stehen. Damit erfüllt das Echowerk nebst der musikalischen auch die denkmalpflegerische Aufgabe, historische Substanz auf bestmögliche Art zu erhalten. Und dank des modernen Gehäuses in Holz und Glas dienen diese wertvollen Pfeifen sogar dem Anschauungsunterricht. Effekt-Register wie Zimbelstern, Bätruef, Sennschellen und Alphorn zeigen historisches, vor allem aber auch Lokal-Kolorit, sind doch tradierte Gebete wie der Alpsegen in unseren Landen gang und gäb!

Luzern 2015 | Wolfgang Sieber

Galerie der Grossen Hoforgel